Jordan Klassen Announces Sophomore Album

image001

Jordan Klassen has announced that he will release his sophomore album Javelin on February 19 via Nevado Records.

To celebrate, he’s offered a free stream of ‘Baby Moses’;

“It was a song I wrote looking back at my twenties and wishing that I’d known then what I know now. Truly Rod Stewart-esque. I wanted to be honest about my disappointment, but also humble enough to not just blame everyone else for my own shortcomings,” he said of the single in a statement.

Klassen readily admits that he found inspiration from an unlikely source.

“The record is a nod to the ‘90s New Age music that I grew up with,” he said. “My mom was really into Enya, and I wanted to explore some of those sounds in a very modern way. I wanted to really embrace ethereality.”

Klassen recorded Javelin at Sonic Ranch outside of El Paso, Texas at the recommendation of James Vincent McMorrow. The isolation combined with serving as producer allowed him to stay focused.

“I wanted it to be scary. I have a lot of friends in Vancouver that I’ve worked with in the past, and I have my own little studio as well. But it felt too comfortable here. I needed to challenge myself, so I thought I would go down there and produce it myself in a place I’d never been before, with gear I didn’t know,” he said.

The songs on the album were inspired by both his battle with depression and his mother’s fight against breast cancer.

“I don’t really hide many things. Writing these songs, I just felt like I was doing what I do. But I hope and I think I’m better at being vulnerable. Or, I’m vulnerable with more clarity,” Klassen said.

It was this battle that inspired the track ‘Delilah’.

“It was me wanting to give her a gift and in the process to say, just keep going. It’s going to be okay. I’m here,” he said.

Ultimately, the recording the album proved to be a therapeutic experience.

“(It) helped me to just own things. It makes things solid, makes them tangible. But I think life always takes a long time. I didn’t just write these songs and walk away feeling great. It’s good enough right now just to have a historical document of what I’ve been through the last couple of years,” Klassen said.

Catch Jordan Klassen on the following dates;

Jan 14 – Galway, IRE @ Roisin Dubh

Jan 15 – Dublin, IRE @ The Grand Social

Jan 16 – Belfast, IRE @ Empire Music Hall

Jan 18 – Cambridge, UK @ Junction 2

Jan 19 – Norwich, UK @ Norwich Arts Centre

Jan 20 – York, UK @ The Duchess

Jan 22 – Glasgow, UK @ Oran Mor

Jan 23 – Edinburgh, UK @ Mash House

Jan 24 – Aberdeen, UK @ The Lemon Tree

Jan 26 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club

Jan 27 – New Castle, UK @ The Cluny

Jan 29 – Liverpool, UK @ Arts Club

Jan 30 – Manchester, UK @ The Ruby Lounge

Jan 31 – Cardiff, UK @ The Globe

Feb 2 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla

Feb 3 – Brighton, UK @ Komedia

Feb 4 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall

Feb 6 – Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso (Upstairs)

Feb 8 – Berlin, DE @ Privatclub

Feb 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar

Feb 10 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Feb 12 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Ballroom

Feb 13 – Norrköping, SE @ Where’s The Music Festival

Feb 14 – Malmö, SE @ Malmö Live

Feb 16 – Madrid, ES @ El Sol

Feb 18 – Barcelona, ES @ Barts Club

Feb 19 – Zaragoza, ES @ Las Armas

Feb 20 – San Sebastian, ES @ Le Bukowski

Feb 29 – Munich, DE @ Milla

Mar 1 – Cologne, DE @ Studio 672

Mar 2 – Hamburg, DE @ Kukuun

image002

01 Glory B

02 Gargoyles

03 No Salesman

04 Baby Moses

05 Miles

06 We Got Married

07 St Fraser

08 Delilah

09 Light In The Evening

10 Smoking Too Long

Leave a Reply

