Stream or Download Lord RAJA’s PARA for Free

Brooklyn-based producer Lord Raja, aka Charles Raj Anand, has offered a free stream/download of his album PARA via Adult Swim.

The album is the follow-up to Anand’s 2014 effort A Ghostly Moth. PARA was inspired by his trip to Austin, Texas’ famous synthesizer store Switched On.

“While I was there,” he explained in a statement. “I went to that famous synth store, Switched On, and my mind was blown. They had everything– all these modular synths, a mellotron, Elektron synths. Just everything.” As he was surveying the goods, a plan began to form. “I asked the person who was working there, ‘ Would it be OK if I took my laptop and recorded some sounds?’  And I just started going crazy — plugging everything in, trying out different things, messing with drum machines, and recording all of it using RME Babyface. When I walked out, I felt like I had made off with the loot.”

“This is probably my most successful attempt at making a consistent work,” Anand added. “I was really conscious about making a record that wouldn’t alienate people.”
He still experimented on the album, using his self-modified Lexicon PCM 90 and an Eventide H3000 to bring the sounds he heard in his head to life and create a custom sound for each song. He recorded the album in a number of locations, ranging from hotel rooms to being on tour Rajasthan, India, he made sure the 14 tracks followed a specific, ordered sound.
“The title, PARA is an open-ended ‘For,'” Anand explained. “It could be ‘For You,’  it could be ‘For’  something you’re doing. Ultimately, it’s for whatever you want it to be for.”
“I feel like I was very prepared to make this album,” he said. “I wanted to include everyone, and say ‘This is my voice.'”
1. Stars (Intro)
2. Zerulean
3. Butterfly On A Jet
4. Sheep
5. Broken Computer
6. Ride Out (Digital Bonus)
7. H3000
8. Stoked Tourist
9. Koi Fish
10. Renaissance Endo
11. Shook
12. Footwork
13. Flying Towards The Ground
14. Invst (Digital Bonus)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: