Rococode Announce Sophomore Album

ROCOCODE 2015 by Lynol Lui

Vancouver’s Rococode have announced that they will release their sophomore album Don’t Worry It Will Be Dark Soon on February 26.

The duo of Laura Smith and Andrew Braun have shared the video for ‘Panic Attack’, the title track from their 2015 EP which is also on the new album;

Rococode recorded the songs for Don’t Worry It Will Be Dark Soon at the same time as the EP. Foregoing the comforts of a high tech studio, they decamped to an isolated cabin with producers Caleb Shreve (Phantogram, Bear Hands) and Ted Gowans (Tegan and Sara, Fences) and set up shop there.

The music found on the album is at odds with the natural environment it was recorded in, using drum machines, synthesizers and guitars. The title was inspired by a bit of between song banter Braun heard at a Radiohead show as a teenager.

“The daylight was kind of busting the vibe for most of the show and Thom Yorke kept saying, ‘Don’t worry it will be dark soon. Everything is gonna be fine. It will be dark soon’,” he explained in a statement.  “It kind of rattled around in my brain for 10 years and then we wrote the tracks, thinking about the comfort that the nighttime affords. It feels like a time where there is room to breathe and be ourselves. Throughout the writing of this record we were dealing with some difficult personal battles. The writing and recording was very cathartic and very much helped us grow through some turbulent times to arrive at a more comfortable destination.”

Rococode also shared a free stream of ‘Hunter Gather’ from the album;


1.  Diamond
2.  Panic Attack
3.  Baddest Sun
4.  Until You’re Mine
5.  Cuttime
6.  Hunter Gather
7.  Dead and Gone
8.  Crystalline
9.  Don’t Worry
10. Doom and Bloom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: