Stream The Little Flames’ ‘The Day is Not Today’ for Free

The Little Flames have announced that they will release their “lost” album The Day is Not Today on March 4 via Deltasonic.

To give fans a taste, they have shared a free stream of the title track;

The Liverpool band started out as a two-person project between singer Eva Petersen and songwriter/guitarist Mat Gregory before they were joined by drummer Greg Mighall, bassist Joe Edwards and guitarist Miles Kane.

They released a pair of singles, ‘Goodbye Little Rose’ and ‘Put Your Dukes Up, John’. The latter was covered by The Arctic Monkeys.

They went to Sweden to record their debut album with producer Tore Johansson at Tambourine Studios and Gula Studion in Malmö. Despite the album being ready for release in 2007, they called it a day and went onto other projects including The Rascals, The Last Shadow Puppets as well as various solo and art projects.

The relaunch of Deltasonic, along with the label’s reissue series, influenced the decision to finally release the album.

The band had the following to say about the reissue of The Day is Not Today in a statement;

 “We did the first sessions for ‘The Day is Not Today’ with Central Nervous System AKA Joe Fearon in Liverpool, and then completed it with Tore Johansson in Malmö, Sweden, which made sense of some of the wildness and brought out the atmosphere that we were looking for.  For me it was very natural that we would make an album with a lot of atmosphere. The Little Flames’ music always had an inherent darkness about it, but here we wanted to build on that with a different kind of drama, something a little more cinematic and a little less impetuous.  The band has it’s own history and it’s own story, but a few years down the line it seems right that this album can exist now – I think that it deserves that as a body of work. Alan (Wills) played a huge role not only in developing the band, but in seeing the potential in what Eva and I were doing right from the start and supporting us. He always liked the record, saw the worth in it and helped to shape it in the way that only he could. It feels good that it should be released now and that we have the opportunity to dedicate it both to him and to Ann, who has worked incredibly hard to make this happen,” guitarist Mat Gregory said.
“Nine is a number that appears often in ancient cultures and mythology. The number 9 features strongly in my current work as an artist and researcher, so it is pleasing to hear that The Little Flames album is finally being released 9 years after it was recorded. It was meant to be,” singer Eva Peterson explained.
“I’m excited to finally be able to drop the needle in this particular groove! I had a lot of good times with The Flames and I have very fond memories of making this record. Every time I listen to these songs I think of Alan Wills and I’m forever grateful for the opportunity he and Joe Fearon gave me. I’m delighted that everyone is able to now hear what we collectively created,” guitarist Miles Kane said.

1. Isobella
2. The Day Is Not Today
3. If Tomorrow Never Comes
4. 7 Days
5. October Skies
6. In Another Life
7. Meols Reggae
8. Close My Eyes
9. She’s A Stranger To You
10. That Brats A Fiend
11. The Girl Of Last Year

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: