Monthly Archives: June 2016

Sam Cash & The Romantic Dogs Share Video and Tour Dates

The video for Sam Cash & The Romantic Dogs‘ ‘That Was the Summer’ features footage of Cash playing in bars before he was legally able to.

The track is taken from the band’s current release Tongue-in-Cheek Vows.

In a statement, Cash said the video was a look back to when, “you start to lose focus on what it is you’re trying to do in the world,” he said. “I have wanted to be a working songwriter and musician since as early as I can remember, but, like any other prospective career, there have been road blocks that have caused me to question my talent and the reason for my goals. During one of these ‘existential slumps’ I uncovered some home video footage of me at various stages of musical aspiration, and in a funny way these clips reminded me that I have always been chasing this dream, and that I will continue to chase it for as long as I’m able. This is a reaffirmation to myself and to anyone else having doubts about their place in the world.”

“In a way, I’m still trying to get back to the ideals, and fashion choices, of my 14 year old self. At the very least, this will by my mother’s most favorite music video of all time,” he said.

Cash also announced the dates of his upcoming tour;


Stream Pyramid Tropic’s ‘My Destroyer’ for Free

Pyramid Tropic, the duo of JUNO Award nominee Will Whitwham (The Wilderness of Manitoba) and producer/multi-instrumentalist Matthew Fudge (Grand Analog, Alphacub) have shared a free stream of ‘My Destroyer’.

Fudge is best known for creating music production software that is used by programmers working with Bjork, Nine Inch Nails and Austra.

Their caffeinated approach to music lead to them playing in Berlin and Hamburg at the Reeperbahn Festival.

Pyramid Tropic play The Monarch Tavern on Toronto with Joyfultalk on June 18.

Videos for a Lazy Sunday: Hundred Waters Perform on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (Featuring Skrillex & Chance the Rapper)

Hundred Waters were joined by Skrillex and Chance the Rapper for their performance of ‘Show Me Love’ on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert.

Videos for a Lazy Sunday: Eagulls’ ‘Velvet’

The release of the video for Eagulls‘ ‘Velvet’ follows the kick-off of their North American tour.

“I was a fan of John Minton’s work that he’d created for Portishead and was lucky enough to get him to work with me on this video. We both share interests in old cinema and we saw Saul Bass and Fernand Leger as inspirations on the visual elements. John was able to adapt these inspirations into a modern take with a theme of love loss running throughout,” the band’s lead singer George Mitchell said in a statement.

The track is taken from Eagulls’ latest release Ullages, out now on Partisan Records.

6/13 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
6/14 – Pontiac, MI @ The Pike Room
6/15 – Columbus, OH @ The Basement
6/16 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
6/17 – Davenport, IA @ Daytrotter
6/18 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club
6/20 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
6/21 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
6/24 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teregram Ballroom
6/25 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom Of The Hill
1. Heads or Tails
2. Euphoria
3. My Life In Rewind
4. Harpstrings
5. Velvet
6. Psalms
7. Blume
8. Skipping
9. Lemontrees
10. Aisles
11. White Lie Lullabies

Videos for a Lazy Sunday: Lil Silva’s ‘De Ja’ (Featuring Kent Jamz)

Director Matt Halsall had this to say in a statement about the video for Lil Silva‘s ‘De Ja’, featuring Kent Jamz; “Being a young and sometimes frustrated filmmaker/writer who spends a lot of time at home, I felt very quickly drawn to the concept of someone stuck in a cycle of deja vu and the nauseating claustrophobia that comes with it – waking up everyday with the same routine, unable to breakthrough and find a way out. Complacency settles in very quickly and you can adjust to your new circumstances without resistance, just regret. One has to dig deep to break out of such cycles of passive existence and monotony.”

The track is taken from Silva’s latest release JIMI, out now on Good Years.

1. The Play
2. Lines
3. De Ja ft. Kent Jamz
4. Jimi
5. Caught Up ft. Cosima
6. Struggle

Videos for a Lazy Sunday: Tunji Ige’s ‘WAR’

The Glassface-directed video for Tunji Ige‘s ‘WAR’ was shot on a sun-drenched beach and secluded beach in Malibu, California.

The clip features stunning aerial views and freeze frames that transform into paintings.

Tunji Ige also announced the dates of his upcoming “Bring Yo Friends” tour;

Videos for a Lazy Sunday: Red Seas Fire’s ‘Prisoner’

Red Seas Fire unveiled the video for ‘Prisoner’ following its debut on the Radio One Rock Show.

The vid’s claustrophobic visuals are a result of working with Zac Pinchin, whom vocalist Robin Adams met through his friends Blood Youth.

“The idea for ‘Prisoner’s’ video came from wanting to convey the themes and message of the song without taking a too literal or cliché approach by just doing something prison related. It’s about not listening to the people who tell you what you want in life can’t be attained and that sometimes the biggest obstacle to overcome is your own self-doubt and ultimately finding acceptance in that. As a result, Zak came back with the idea of a room gradually reducing in size throughout expressing the feeling of being trapped,” Adams said in a statement.

The current incarnation of the band could be considered Red Seas Fire v 2.0 after two members left due to ill health. In June 2015, things looked bleak for them but they have since come back.

“It’s taken us a little while to get back on our feet,” he admitted. “But, ultimately we were given a rare opportunity to reassess where we were as a band, and attack the sound we put out from here on out with revitalized influences and a newborn passion for what we create.”

“We’ve all moved on a lot from when we set out to write the previous records,” Adams said. “‘Prisoner’ is the first track that we wrote after the initial loss of our previous members. It’s raw, it’s catchy and we feel it’s great transition track between the old material and the new. We’re very excited to deliver this new music to fans proudly under the banner of Red Seas Fire.”