Monthly Archives: February 2018

Stream BOYS’ ‘Hollywood’ for Free

Dream pop quartet BOYS wrote ‘Hollywood’ at the end of their first tour of the US.

They’re offering a free stream of the track.

“Having gained new experiences and ideas from the time we spent in the US together, whilst there we started talking about leaving behind our lives in London and starting a new one in Hollywood, even if it wasn’t a realistic idea,” BOYS’ said in an e-mail.

Stream RAT BOY’s Remix of Annabel Allum’s ‘Beat the Birds’ for Free

Annabel Allum had this to say about RAT BOY‘s remix of her track ‘Beat the Birds’;

When I heard Jordan (Cardy) was gonna remix the track I was gassed. I’m a fan so it was really cool to give him the stems and see what he came out with. It sounds mega. All those wicked signature Ratboy sounds, the textures… it’s an awesome rework.”

Stream mAsis’ ‘Come Alive’ for Free

mAsis had this to say about their single ‘Come Alive’ in an e-mail; Fear can fuel the engine, as long as I’m getting where I need to go.”

The Glendale, California-based trio has offered a free stream of the track.

Stream Free MP3s from Aron D’Alesio

“The Sinatra of Hamilton”, Aron D’Alesio, has shared free streams of his lo-fi takes on Gene Pitney’s ‘Only Love Can Break Your Heart’ and Brian Hyland’s ‘Sealed With a Kiss’.

D’Alesio’s self-titled debut is out now on Paper Bag Records. He’s heading out on the road with Born Ruffians. Head here for details.

Stream Ellevator’s ‘Hounds’ for Free

Ellevator‘s Nabi Sue Bersche had this to say about the band’s single ‘Hounds’ in an e-mail; “Most nights I dream I’m being chased. I don’t know what this is a manifestation of – only that it started when I was a little kid, and it began as wolves or wild dogs that pursued me. Those hounds bite at my heels and prevent me from stopping to ask for help. Their howls whistle through my head, drowning out the voices of others who need help too. It’s all consuming,” she wrote.

‘Hounds’ is an acknowledgement that we need each other to survive. There’s safety in numbers. We’ve seen how ‘every man for himself’ turns out, and we need to do better,” she added.

The band’s self-titled EP is out on April 20. They will support Our Lady Peace and Matthew Good following dates at SXSW.

3/12-15 Austin, TX        SXSW Music Festival

3/16    Toronto, ON        REBEL

3/20    Winnipeg, MB        Burton Cummings Theatre

3/21     Winnipeg, MB        Burton Cummings Theatre

3/23    Calgary, AB        Grey Eagle Event Centre    

3/24    Cranbrook, BC        Western Financial Place

3/26    Edmonton, AB        Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium

3/27    Edmonton, AB        Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium

3/28     Prince George, BC    CN Centre

3/30     Kelowna, BC        Prospera Place

3/31    Abbotsford, BC        Abbotsford Centre        

6/23    Hamilton, ON        Tim Hortons Field


Jordan Rakei Shares the Video for ‘Eye to Eye’

Tom Ewbank, the director of Jordan Rakei‘s ‘Eye to Eye’, had this to say about the clip in a press release.

“We shot the music video on the Welsh coast in the middle of December, which came with a few challenges, not least the temperature of the sea and the weather!” Ewbank explained. “This was the first bit of acting that Jordan had done and I was initially concerned that we may struggle to transform one of the nicest and most considerate people I know into a psychopath. I’m not sure what Jordan’s performance says about him as a person but his portrayal is very convincing and at times terrifying. I’ve always enjoyed working with Jordan and I feel very fortunate to have worked with him on this project, hopefully his fans enjoy the video as much as we enjoyed making it.”

The track is taken from Rakei’s second album Wallflower, out now on Ninja Tune. He also shared a free stream of a remix of the track under his Dan Kye moniker;

The album finished at number two in the “Album of the Year” vote at Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide Awards and it was also shortlisted for The Australian Music Prize, the Australian answer to the UK’s Mercury Prize.

Catch Jordan Rakei on the following dates;

24 Feb – Union Stage, Washington, DC
25 Feb – The Foundry at Fillmore, Philadelphia, PA
26 Feb – Sinclair, Boston, MA
28 Feb – Lee’s Palace, Toronto, ON
01 Mar – Shelter, Detroit, MI
02 Mar – SubT, Chicago, IL
03 Mar – Turf Club, Minneapolis, MN
05 Mar – Constellation Room, Santa Ana, CA
06 Mar – El Rey, Los Angeles, CA
08 Mar – The Fillmore San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
12 Mar – SXSW, Austin, TX
23 Mar – Cape Town International Jazz Festival 2018, Cape Town, South Africa
13 Apr – Next Step, Cully, Switzerland
18 Apr – Ronnie Scott’s, London, UK
19 Apr – Ronnie Scott’s, London, UK

26 Apr – Kulturhuset, Stockholm, Sweden
03 May – Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
05 May – Cheltenham Jazz Festival, Cheltenham, UK
11 May – Salon IKSV, Beyoğlu, Turkey
26 May – World Island, Leeds, UK
31 May – Alexandra Palace (Bonobo support), London, UK
01 Jun – Field Day 2018, Brockwell Park, Herne Hill, UK

22 Jul – Liverpool International Music Festival, Liverpool, UK
27 Jul – Soundwave Festival Croatia 2018, The Garden Resort, Tisno, Croatia
17 Aug – Lowlands Festival 2018, Biddinghuizen, Netherlands
18 Aug – Pukkelpop Festival, Kiewit – Hasselt, Belgium
24 Aug – Lost Village Festival, Lincoln, UK
01 Sept – Electric Picnic, Stradbally, IE

C-DRAIN Releases the Video for ‘Come On!’

Indie rock artist and multi-instrumentalist C-DRAIN, aka Christos Pappas, had this to say about his single ‘Come On!’ in a press release.

“’Come On!’ is the first single from my new EP,” Pappas explained. “Each track on the EP is there to represent a season, and ‘Come On!’ is the summer. It just has that positive energy that summer brings, that feeling of wanting to get out there and party.”

The track can be found on his new EP No Plumbing Business, which he played every instrument on. He divides his time between Athens, Greece and London, England. C-DRAIN has received support from the BBC and the legendary Brian Wilson with the latter sharing his music on his Facebook page.