Tag Archives: Album artwork

OverDoz Sign Record Deal

Image by Calmatic

LA hip-hop group OverDoz have signed to Polo Grounds Music/RCA.

“OverDoz. and their team are fearless, creative and represent everything that’s bright about where rap music is headed,” Bryan Leach, President of Polo Grounds Music, Inc. said in a statement.

The band is just wrapping up their tour in support of their BOOM mixtape, available for free stream/download here.

1. Underground ft. Pimp C (Produced by THC)
2. These Niggas ft. Nipsey Hussle (Produced by THC)
3. F$WSAD ft. Problem (Produced by THC)
4. Lauren London (Produced by Iman Omari)
5. Desto’s Don’t Stress Hoes (Produced by THC)
6. Killer Tofu (Produced by THC)
7. Lap Dance ft. Juicy J (Produced by The Futuristiks)
8. De$tabil (Produced by THC)
9. Tongue Ring ft. Cheetah Boyz  & DJ Drama (Produced by Traxamillion)
10. Barbary Coast (Produced by THC)
11. When I Woke Up (Produced by THC)
12. Thinkin’ (Produced by THC)
13. Lois Lane (Produced by THC)
14. Last Love Song (Produced by Brooke D’leau)
15. Inside ft. Gwen Bunn (Produced by Gwen Bunn)
16. Baby Steps (Produced by Iman Omari)
17. Hiroshima (Produced by Iman Omari)


Videos For a Lazy Sunday: Barnett + Coloccia’s ‘So How Much Do You Know About Me?’

Considering that Faith Coloccia and Alex Barnet are separated by 2000 miles, the title of the first single from their forthcoming EP Retrieval is fitting; ‘So How Much Do You Know About Me?’

Barnett + Coloccia‘s Retrieval is out on December 2 on Blackest Ever Black.

Despite the distance, the pair did meet in person, recording the bulk of the seven tracks over the course of three days at Otic Sound in Vancouver using a combination of Coloccia’s treated vocals,  tape-manipulated acoustic recordings and AM radio sounds with Barnet adding synths to create additional loops, beats and rhythmic elements. They got together again for the final mixing and editing session at AVAST! Studio in Seattle with engineer/producer Randall Dunn.

The result is a collection of songs that’s introspective in nature but cosmic in scope.

A1. Harbor (4:04)
A2. Switch (5:53)
A3. So, How Much Do You Know About Me? (3:03)
A4. Hallway (8:17)
B1. Repeating Pit (5:43)
B2. Retrieval (4:47)
B3. Birds Eye (6:50)

Mark Pritchard Shares Title Track From Forthcoming EP

Image courtesy of Fontana North

Mark Pritchard has announced that he will release his Ghosts EP digitally on June 25 and on vinyl on July 23 on Warp Records/Fontana North.

It’s the first of three EPs he’s slated to release ahead of his debut album, release dates TBA.

He’s shares the title track from the EP as well as a free stream of his 30 minute mix for Kode9’s Rinse Radio Show.

Tracklisting and album artwork are below;

Digital Tracklist:

1. Manabadman feat. Spikey Tee

2. Ghosts

3. Duppies

4. Get Wyld

5. Manabadman (Instrumental)


Vinyl Tracklist:

A1 Manabadman feat Spikey Tee

A2 Duppies

B1 Ghosts

B2 Get Wyld

Waxahatchee Hits Road With Tegan & Sara This Summer

Image courtesy of Enabler Agency

Brooklyn, NY artist Waxahatchee (aka Katie Crutchfield) has announced that she’s hitting the road with Tegan and Sara for a tour of Europe this summer.

Crutchfield also announced that UK-based label Wichita Recordings will be re-issuing her debut album Cerulean Salt in England on July 1.  This is the second solo album from the former P.S. Eliot singer, the first being last year’s American Weekend. The new album finds Crutchfield balancing the acoustic sound of her previous outing with a plugged-in, full band sound.

To preview the album, stream the track ‘Brother Bryan’ below;

Album artwork, tracklisting and tour dates are below;

1. Hollow Bedroom
2. Dixie Cups and Jars
3. Lips and Limbs
4. Blue Pt. II
5. Brother Bryan
6. Coast to Coast
7. Tangled Envisioning
8. Misery Over Dispute
9. Lively
10. Waiting
11. Swan Dive
12. Peace and Quiet
13. You’re Damaged


06/8 @ Ritz –  Manchester, UK !

06/9 @ ABC – Glasgow, SCT !
06/11 @ The Troxy – London, UK !
06/12 @ The Institute, Birmingham !
06/13 @ Shacklewell Arms – London, UK !
06/17 @ Capitol – Offenbach, DE !
06/18 @ Huxleys – Berlin, DE !
06/20 @ E-Werk – Cologne, IT !
06/25 @ Le Trianon Hall – Paris, FR !
06/26 @ Paradiso – Amsertdam, NL !
06/27 @ AB Club – Brussels, BE !
! = w/ Tegan & Sara

Western Lows New Album Moves At A Glacial Pace

Image by Paley Fairman

LA trio Western Lows have announced that they will released their debut album Glacial on Jaxart Records on June 4.

Like the slow moving masses of ice they took the title of the record from, the band formed over the course of a year when frontman Jack Burnside traveled to Athens, Georgia to work producer Andy LeMaster. Western Lows is now a trio with Julien Bellin and Michael Orendy.

The band is offering a free stream of the track ‘Icicles’, see below;

And check out Western Lows on the following dates;

4/15/13 @ The Satellite – Los Angeles, CA w/ Chief, Samantha Ronson
5/15/13 @ The Redbury – Los Angeles, CA w/ Hunter Hunted
6/8/13 @ Jubilee Festival – Los Angeles, CA

And keep scrolling for the album cover artwork and tracklisting;

1. Grapevine
2. Last Known Rivers
3. Swan Fields
4. I Will
5. Icicles
6. Lazy
7. Gave Away
8. Tall Glass Church
9. Floods
10. Sanctuary

Videos For A Lazy Sunday: Tricky’s ‘Does It’ Featuring Francesca Belmonte

Tricky shared this video from his forthcoming album False Idols, out on May 28 on his new label of the same name.

The vid sees him reciting the lyrics while footage of war is interspersed. He said the lyrics were influences by the abundance of, “violence [I’ve seen] since I was six or seven years of age.”

He’s also offering a free stream/download of the track ‘Nothing’s Changed’.

Album artwork and tracklisting is below;

1. Somebody’s Sins

2. Nothing Matters

3. Valentine

4. Bonnie & Clyde

5. Parenthesis

6. Nothing’s Changed

7. If Only I Knew

8. Is That Your Life

9. Tribal Drums

10. We Don’t Die

11. Chinese Interlude

12. Does It

13. I’m Ready

14. Hey Love

15. Passion Of The Christ

Videos For A Lazy Sunday: Shellshag’s ‘Forever’

Brooklyn-via-San Francisco duo Shellshag offer a glimpse at what goes on before their rambunctious live shows.

The band is streaming the track ‘Face To Face’ for free. Both tracks are from their forthcoming album Shellshag Forever, out on April 16 via Don Giovanni Records. Tracklisting and cover artwork are below;

1. Face To Face
2. Sweet Hoodie
3. Come Down
4. Forever
5. Driving Song
6. Wasted Imagination
7. Medley
8. I Love You Anyway
9. Destroy Me I’m Yours
10. Dots In Rhyme

They also unveiled their spring tour;

4/13 Brooklyn, NY – Union Pool *
4/19 Hoboken, NJ – Maxwells !
5/9 Boston, MA – Middle East ! @
5/10 Brooklyn, NY – Death By Audio @ $
5/18 Manhattan, NY – Mercury Lounge #
5/25 Brooklyn, NY – Party Expo &
6/5 Brooklyn, NY – Death By Audio ^
6/8 Kingston, NY – BSP Lounge ^
6/21-23 Chattanooga, TN – Do Ya Hear We Fest

* = w/ RVIVR
! = w/ Screaming Females
@ = w/ Black Wine
$ = w/ Swearin’ & comedians Dave Hill and Chris Gethard
# = w/ JEFF The Brotherhood and Hunters
^ = w/ Apogee Sound Club
& = w/ Moira Scara