Tag Archives: Closed Sessions

Stream Femdot’s ‘Ryu’ for Free

Femdot has shared a free stream of ‘Ryu’ from his debut album Delacreme 2, out on June 6 via Closed Sessions.

“The root of who you are can be explained through a collection of moments in your life. These not only define you, but are used when one needs reassurance of what it means to be themselves, at the core,” he said in a statement. “That’s what Delacreme 2 is. By using defining moments in my life and keeping them in a place in my heart that I can access if I need to, I created a time capsule of sorts inside of me. So here’s that process on wax.”
‘Ryu’ follows the video for ‘Alright’ from Delacreme 2.
The Chicago-based artist is a first generation Nigerian and graduated from Depaul University’s Biological Sciences program.
1. Lost
2. Exit (Bounce)
3. Alright
4. Ryu
5. No Scholarships
6. Your Love (feat Shawnee Dez & Sherren Olivia)
7. O’something
8. U Learn
9. Red Marlboros (feat Sherren Olivia)
10. Snow In July (feat CRLCRRLL & Johari Noelle)
11. Empty Bottle
12. Listen and Stay Awhile (feat Jack Red & Sherren Olivia)
13. Found

Stream WebsterX’s ‘Intuition’ for Free

Milwaukee artist WebsterX has shared a free stream of ‘Intuition’ from his debut album Daymares, out on March 24 via Chicago’s Closed Sessions.

Stream or Download Jamila Woods’ HEAVN for Free

Jamila Woods has shared a free stream/download of her debut album HEAVN, out now on Closed Sessions.

To download the album, click on the embedded Soundcloud file.

HEAVN features appearances from Saba, Donnie Trumpet, Chance the Rapper and Lorine Chia as well as production from oddCouple, Peter Cottontale and Carter Lang.

“HEAVN is about black girlhood, about Chicago, about the people we miss who have gone on to prepare a place for us somewhere else, about the city/world we aspire to live in. I hope this album encourages listeners to love themselves and love each other. For black and brown people, caring for ourselves and each other is not a neutral act. It is a necessary and radical part of the struggle to create a more just society. Our healing and survival are essential to the fight,” Woods said in a statement.

Download Closed Sessions Vol. 2 For Free

Download Closed Sessions Vol. 2 For Free

Chicago boutique hip-hop label Closed Sessions and RubyHornet.com have released Closed Sessions Vol. 2 for free today.

The comp features unreleased and original music from Mr. Muthafuckin’ ExQuire, Action Bronson, Freddie Gibbs and more. You can also stream the compilation here.

Check Out Ninjasonik’s ‘This Is How We Treat ‘Em’ For Free

Check Out Ninjasonik’s ‘This Is How We Treat ‘Em’ For Free

Closed Sessions has “leaked” another track off their forthcoming Closed Sessions Vol. 2 compilation. The track features Hollywood Holt & Million $ Mano.

Check out the story behind the song here.

Closed Sessions Opens Up With New Compilation & Documentary

Boutique Chicago hip hop label Closed Sessions has just revealed the details of the latest edition of their audio/visual series that chronicles the label’s contributions to Chicago’s growing hip hop scene.

Vol. 2 was recorded between May, 2010 through to January, 2012, chronicling the scene’s rise on national hip hop radar. Closed Sessions has started hosting a monthly event called Digital Freshness that draws headlining artists for a performance before then conducting a recording session at Soundscape. The recordings will ultimately become a series of mini-documentaries and singles that will premiere every Wednesday on MTV2.com starting July 11th. The free release of the full compilation drop in August.

Closed Sessions Vol. 2 features L.E.P. Bogus BoysAction BronsonRaekwonDJ BabuSir Michael Rocks of The Cool KidsMr. Muthafuckin’ eXquireCyhi The PrynceBlu, Vonnegutt, Vic Mensa of Kids These DaysMic TerrorHollywood HoltNinjasonikFreddie Gibbs, YP, OutasightNaledge of Kidz In The HallMillion $ Mano and Donnis.

The initial release led to an affiliation with hip hop website Ruby Hornet. The second will be further boosted thanks to sponsorship from MTV 2’s Sucker Free.

For a preview, head here to check out a mini-documentary plus give Action Bronson’s ‘Blackbird’ a listen.